

Wisconsin Rapids Board of Education

510 Peach Street · Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 · (715) 424-6701

April 24, 2017

John A. Krings, President John Benbow, Jr. Sandra K. Hett Larry Davis Anne Lee Katie Medina Mary E. Rayome

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

Organizational Meeting

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

TIME: 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Anne Lee, Mary Rayome, Sandra Hett, John Krings, Katie Medina, John Benbow, Larry Davis

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Colleen Dickmann

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.

Roll Call

President Krings confirmed that the Oath of Office was administered by the Board Secretary to recently elected Board members Sandra Hett and John Krings.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Mary Rayome that Colleen Dickmann, Superintendent, be appointed temporary chairman of the Board of Education meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

John Benbow nominated John Krings for the office of President of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Katie Medina that nominations for President of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for John Krings as President. Motion carried unanimously.

At this point, John Krings presided over the organizational meeting.

Larry Davis nominated Mary Rayome for the office of Vice President of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Katie Medina that nominations for Vice President of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Mary Rayome as Vice President. Motion carried unanimously.

John Krings nominated Larry Davis for the office of Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Anne Lee that nominations for Clerk of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Larry Davis as Clerk. Motion carried unanimously.

John Krings nominated Sandra Hett for the office of Treasurer of the Board of Education.

Larry Davis nominated Katie Bielski-Medina for the office of Treasurer of the Board of Education.

Sandra Hett withdrew her name for the office of Treasurer, declining nomination. John Krings accepted the withdrawal.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by John Benbow that nominations for Treasurer of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Katie Bielski-Medina as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Anne Lee nominated Maurine Hodgson to be elected as Secretary of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by Larry Davis that nominations for Secretary be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Maurine Hodgson as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Krings, seconded by Mary Rayome that the Board of Education continue to operate under the current operational policies, regulations, and by-laws as set forth by the Board of Education. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Krings, seconded by John Benbow that the Board of Education approve the use of the Facsimile Signatures for use in signing School District checks or orders. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Krings, seconded by Larry Davis that the Board of Education approve the Resolution Designating Public Depositories and Authorizing Withdrawal of School District monies. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Krings, seconded by Mary Rayome that the Board of Education authorize the administration to use the present Facsimile signature plate for School District checks appropriately drawn. Motion carried unanimously.

President John Krings recommended the following Board Committee appointments:

- 1. John Benbow, Jr. as Chair of the Business Services Committee, with Larry Davis and Katie Bielski-Medina serving as members.
- 2. Sandra Hett as Chair of the Personnel Services Committee, with Mary Rayome and Anne Lee serving as members.
- Anne Lee as Chair of the Educational Services Committee, with all seven Board members serving on this committee.

President John Krings recommended the following other appointments:

- 1. Anne Lee as the delegate for the CESA 5 annual meeting.
- 2. John Benbow as the WASB Delegate for the WASB Convention in Milwaukee in January 2018, with Sandra Hett appointed as the Alternate Delegate.
- 3. John Benbow as the WASB Legislative Representative.
- 4. Anne Lee as the Council for Instructional Improvement representative.
- 5. John Benbow as the Trade/Construction Class Project Committee representative.
- 6. Sandra Hett, John Krings, and Mary Rayome as the WRPS/WREA Wage Negotiation Committee representatives.
- 7. Katie Bielski-Medina as the Student/District Wellness Committee representative. Larry Davis expressed an interest in also attending the meetings as an observer only, which President Krings acknowledged would be fine

Motion by John Krings, seconded by Anne Lee to approve the recommended appointments. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings stated that Committee meeting times would remain the same as the prior year as follows:

Committee Meeting Times:

- 1. Personnel Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Business Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 3. Educational Services Committee immediately following, but not before 6:15 p.m.

WRPS Board of Education Organizational Meeting – April 24, 2017

President Krings stated that the seating arrangement will remain as in the prior year: Vice President Mary Rayome seated on the President's right, followed by Anne Lee, Sandra Hett, and the Student Representative. The Superintendent will sit on the President's left, followed by John Benbow, Larry Davis, and Katie Medina.

Dr. Dickmann explained that each Board member is entitled to a District e-mail account, and reminded Board members to be aware of e-mail use in relation to the public records law and Board policy.

John Krings adjourned the meeting at 6:12 p.m.

John Krings – President

John a. Mung

Larry Davis - Clerk

Maurine Hodgson - Secretary